Key Facts

Key Facts about Kyrgyzstan

The Kyrgyzstan is in the north-east of Central Asia. It is located within the Pamir-Alai in the southwest and the Tien Shan in the northeast. It borders with Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and China.

Independence date : August 31, 1991 (from the USSR)

Languages ​​: Kyrgyz – state, Russian – official.

President of the Kyrgyz Republic  : ZHEENBEKOV Sooronbai Sharipovich

Prime Minister of the Kyrgyz Republic : ABYLGAZIEV Muhammetkaliy Duyshekeevich

Currency : Kyrgyz Som (KGS, code 417)

Internet domain : .kg

Phone Code : +996

Time Zones : UTC +6

The territory is 199.9 thousand km2 (5.8% – forests, 4.4% – water, 53.3% – agricultural land, 36.5% – other lands). Almost 90% are located above 1,500 m above sea level.

Capital : Bishkek (859.8 thousand people).

Population: Approximately 6 million.

Big cities: Osh (255.8 thousand), Jalal-Abad (98.4 thousand), Karakol (68.0 thousand).

Kyrgyzstan consists of 9 administrative-territorial units – Chui oblast, Talas oblast, Issyk-Kul oblast, Naryn oblast, Jalal-Abad oblast, Osh oblast, Batken oblast, the city of Osh and the city of Bishkek.

Regional centers – Talas, Karakol, Naryn, Jalal-Abad, Osh, Batken.

In total, representatives of more than 100 nationalities live in the republic.

State Symbols: Kyrgyz Flag, Kyrgyz Emblem

Kyrgyz Flag: The flag features a yellow tunduk with 40 rays of sun spiraling around it on a red background. The tunduk is traditionally the circular top portion of a yurt, and symbolizes the home and the universe. The rays of sun represent the 40 tribes of Kyrgyzstan.

Kyrgyz Emblem: The emblem features a hawk beating its wings in front of a panorama of the Tian Shan and a rising sun. The most prominent color is light blue, which traditionally signifies courage and generosity.