What are border zones in Kyrgyzstan and why do they exist?

Border zone – a strip of terrain established by the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic in order to ensure proper order on the state border within the territory of a district, city, or village adjacent to the state border.

Kyrgyzstan Borderpermit | Travel Land

Kyrgyzstan has unique travel and leisure potential for tourists. Since the country is mountainous, more than 90% of the territory is located at an altitude of more than 1000 m above sea level. The highest mountain peaks after the Himalayas and Pamirs are located here: Pobedy Peak (7439 m) and Lenin Peak (7134 m) and one of the largest glaciers on earth – Enilchek.

The majestic silence of snowy ridges in the mountains, shady forests of slender Tien Shan firs, frothy waterfalls, numerous crystal-clear alpine lakes, colorful green landscapes, including the Suusamyr Valley, with yurts, herds of horses, numerous species of flora and fauna can be seen in Kyrgyzstan and some of them are located in border zones where it is necessary to have special permits.

What is a border pass?

The permit is a piece of paper that must be in the original (stamp and signature). Unfortunately, it is impossible to order a permit in one click through a mobile application, for this, you need to spend time in public institutions or entrust it to us, and we will be happy to do it for you.

How to get a border pass in Kyrgyzstan?

We need to know your detailed itinerary, travel dates, and copies of your passports to get a border pass for you.

Usually, this border pass is done in 3 weeks in the standard mode, but you can also speed up the process if necessary.

After receiving the necessary documents, you can safely conquer the untouched peaks of the majestic Celestial mountains of Central Asia.

How many border zones are there and where are they?

Unfortunately, it is impossible to reach these places without these documents. Below are the popular zones that require a border permit.

  1. Chui regionChon Kemin valley & National Park “Chon Kemin”
  2. Issyk-Kul region – Ak-Suu, Djety-Oguz, Ananyevo, Tyup and Issyk-Kul regions
  3. Naryn region – At-bashi district (through the checkpoint “Torugart” and Kyndy Pass)
  4. Osh region – Alai and Chon-Alai districts and Irkeshtam checkpoint
  5. Batken – Lyailyaksky and Batken regions

Only the original document is required.

To pass the checkpoint of the border zone, original documents are required. Therefore, before leaving, double-check all your documents.

What sights are there in these border zones?

  • The Inylchek glacier is the largest and fastest glacier in Kyrgyzstan, two branches of which are called Northern and Southern Inylchek. The Inylchek glacier is located to the east of Lake Issyk-Kul on the highest and most inaccessible part of the entire Tien Shan – the Khan Tengri massif.


  • Kel-Suu is a high-altitude lake of glacial origin, located in the southeastern part of the Naryn region, near the Kyrgyz-Chinese border, at an altitude of 3,500 meters. The lake impresses with its views – the water in it is bright blue and contrasts very beautifully with the harsh rocks surrounding it.


  • Lenin Peak (7134m) is located on the border of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan in the Pamir mountain system. This mountain is one of three seven-thousand-meter mountains located in the territory of Kyrgyzstan


  • Karkyra valley is a vast territory of about 60 thousand hectares of land, including such areas as the Karkyra River basin, Zhyluusuu, Kegen, Taldy-Suu, Toktayan and Santash near the border to Kazakhstan.


  • The Chon-Kemin Gorge is a unique natural zone located in the northern part of Kyrgyzstan in the gap between the largest ridges of the northern Tien Shan: the Trans-Ili Alatau, located on the territory of Kazakhstan and Kyungei Ala-Too, which is located on the northern shore of Lake Issyk-Kul.

Kyrgyzstan has kept its nature untouched and virgin, which makes it possible to visit the country more often at different seasons of the year and discover new beauties.